3D Outdoor League

3D Outdoor League

  • free to YCB members
  • add your name to scoresheet in clubhouse
  • operates from May 15 to June 24, 2017
  • check chalkboard at YCB clubhouse for active course



Field Archey

Field archery involves shooting at targets of varying (and often unmarked) distance, often in woodland and rough terrain.

One goal of field archery is to improve the techniques and abilities required for bowhunting in a more realistic outdoor setting. As with golf, fatigue can be an issue as the athlete walks the distance between targets across sometimes rough terrain. Field Archery is usually shot according to either IFAA (International Field Archery Association) [1] rules or to FITA (Federation International de Tir a L'Arc) rules. (see section on FITA Field). Some national organisations (such as the NFAS in the UK) have their own rules. FITA rounds consist of 24 targets, which may have marked or unmarked distances depending on the specific type of round. FITA Field Archery is very popular in Western Europe whereas 3D is shot mostly in the Americas and Oceania.

Three common types of field rounds are the field, hunter, and animal. A round consists of 28 targets in two units of 14. The information in the following sections is taken from the NFAA Styles and Rules.


Field rounds are at 'even' distances up to 80 yards (some of the shortest are measured in feet instead), using targets with a black bullseye (5 points), a white center (4) ring, and black outer (3) ring.


Hunter rounds use 'uneven' distances up to 70 yards (64 m), and although scoring is identical to a field round, the target has an all-black face with a white bullseye. Child and youth positions for these two rounds are closer, no more than 30 and 50 yards (46 m), respectively.


Animal rounds use life-size 2D animal targets with 'uneven' distances reminiscent of the hunter round. The rules and scoring are also significantly different. The archer begins at the first station of the target and shoots his first arrow. If it hits, he does not have to shoot again. If it misses, he advances to station two and shoots a second arrow, then to station three for a third if needed. Scoring areas are vital (20, 16, or 12) and nonvital (18, 14, or 10) with points awarded depending on which arrow scored first. Again, children and youth shoot from reduced range.

Four target face sizes are specified: 80cm; 60cm; 40cm and 20cm. Six target faces of each size are used on the course. For each target face size there are upper and lower distance limits for the various divisions of archer. Target faces have four black outer rings and a yellow spot, each with an equal width. The yellow spot is subdivided into two rings. The black rings score 1 point for the outermost to 4 points for the innermost. A hit in the outer yellow scores 5 points. A hit in the inner yellow scores 6 points. Before April 2008, the innermost yellow ring counted as an X (the number of Xs was used for tie-breaks) but only scored 5 points.

Shooting positions are marked by coloured pegs set at a distance from each target. Generally the red peg is set the furthest from the target, the blue peg is set nearer, and the yellow peg (or white peg in the UK) is set the nearest. The course layer may choose to vary this, though. Each peg is associated with one or more divisions of archer.